One from Jackson nominated for Scholar-Athlete of the Year

(Laramie, Wyo.) – The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will announce its Scholar-Athlete of the Year at a banquet Saturday night in Laramie. Jackson's Theo Dawson has been nominated in the Class 3A back category. Twelve seniors from a dozen different high schools in the state’s five football classifications have been named finalists for the honor. A back and a lineman have been nominated in each classification. In addition, special awards will be presented to state residents for their outstanding contributions to amateur football, coaching, officiating, and to the greatest UW and High School football fans. The Scholar-Athlete Award Finalists are: *1A Six Man* - Hayden Fauber, Kaycee - Shawn Shepperson, Meeteetse *1A-11 Man* - Jackson Linford, Cokeville (Lineman) - Jeff Burroughs, Southeast (Back) *2A* - Elijah Stewart, Glenrock (Back) - Josh Calvert, Wheatland (Lineman) *3A* - Baylor Beers, Riverton (Lineman) - Teagan Cordes, Powell (Lineman) - Theo Dawson, Jackson (Back) - Skyler Miller, Torrington (Back) *4A* - Blake Goodwin, Sheridan (Back) - Quinn Happold, Cheyenne East (Lineman) - Courage and Perseverance Awards - Cameron Myers, Cody – Courage - Jaxn Kobza, Ranchester (Tongue River HS) - Perseverance *University of Wyoming Scholar-Athlete Finalists* - Cameron Coffman (Back) and Rafe Kiely (Lineman) Each nominated athlete will receive a $1,200 scholarship from the Wyoming Chapter and one top Scholar-Athlete will be receive a second $1,200 scholarship and be the state’s nominee for Western U.S. Chapter Scholar-Athlete of the Year. *Special Award Recipients are:* - Harold Bailey, Greeley, CO, (Formerly of Shoshoni), Football Coaching Award - Doug Bartlett, Torrington, Football Coaching Award - Bill Lehr, Big Piney, Football Coaching Award - Chuck and Katie Brown, Wheatland, Greatest UW Football Fan - Keith Downey, Laramie, Greatest UW Football Fan - Michael Popeck, Lander, Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fan - Lee and Donna Shafer, Big Piney, Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fan - Danny Watson, Riverton, Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football - Dylan Grant, Randy Rider, Terry Rider and Todd Van Rensselaer, Douglas (football chain gang), Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football. *Feature Photo: Theo Dawson with the ball at the Jackson vs. Riverton game on Nov. 1. h/t DeNesha Jay Anderson / Pitchengine Communities* #buckrail #news #gameticker