Have a voice on local housing decisions: The new regional housing board seeks applicants

(Jackson, Wyo.) - On March 14, the Town Council and County Commissioners voted 8 - 2 to officially create the joint housing authority. Beginning May 1, the affordable housing agency, previously known as the Teton County Housing Authority, will become the Jackson/Teton County Regional Housing Authority. Oversight of the agency will fall under Teton County’s management structure, in consultation with Town management and with oversight by both the Town and County’s elected governing bodies. In preparation for the new housing authority, the Town and County have announced that applications are being accepted for positions on the newly created regional housing authority. Teton County Board of Commissioners will select and appoint one member, the Town of Jackson Council will appoint one member, and then those two members will appoint a third member to form the full three member board. Board terms are for five years and will be staggered this first round: County appointed member – 5 years, Town appointed member – 4 years, Board appointed member – 3 years. Qualifications include: - County appointed applicants must be qualified voters in Teton County - Town appointed applicants must be residents within the Town of Jackson - The third appointed applicant must be qualified voters in Teton County For more information, contact Alyssa Watkins at, Administrator to the Teton County Commission or request an application from Sandy Birdyshaw at 732-8488 or at The Application deadline is 5:00 p.m. on April 6 with interviews scheduled soon after. #buckrail #news