Town and County Sign Joint Powers Agreement for Parks and Rec

(Jackson, Wyo.) - Teton County and Town of Jackson elected officials have opted to renew a Joint Powers Agreement continuing cooperative oversight of the Parks and Recreation Department. The Jackson Town Council and the Teton County Commissioners both voted unanimously to adopt the Joint Powers Agreement. With this signing, the Town of Jackson and Teton County enter into a 10-year partnership for cooperative action in providing a Parks and Recreation Department for the community. This renewal of the local governments’ long-standing agreement specifies details such as ownership of facilities, budgeting procedures, financing and methods of operations. “This has been a very successful partnership,” said Parks and Recreation Director Steve Ashworth. “This Joint Powers Agreement supports the excellent relationship between the Town of Jackson and Teton County to ensure top quality parks and recreation facilities and high levels of services for our community.” A seven member advisory board will continue to oversee the Parks and Recreation Department and Steve Ashworth will continue to serve as the Parks and Recreation Director, a roll which he has held since 2010. Mr. Ashworth has been with the Parks and Recreation Department since 2002. Prior to 2010 he served at the Teton County/Jackson Parks and Recreation Park Planner. “We have been extremely pleased with this cooperative relationship between the Town of Jackson and our Teton County partners,” said Town of Jackson Mayor Sara Flitner. “We look forward to continuing this productive and supportive relationship for years to come.” #buckrail #news