Nine local outstanding high school football players named as Wyoming Scholar-Athlete Nominees

The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation will determine the state’s Top Football Scholar-Athletes from a field of 101 nominations from 35 high schools and the University of Wyoming, according to Wyoming Chapter President Jeff Felton of Cheyenne. Nominees from each of the state’s five participation classes will be honored, including two from the University of Wyoming. Nine Fremont and Hot Springs county athletes made the list. A back and a lineman from each division will be nominated as a finalist from the list of nominees. In determining our Scholar-Athlete finalists, academic achievement is weighted 40 percent, football performance is weighted 40 percent and school and community leadership is weighted 20 percent. Many times, the school and community Leadership component can be the tie breaker when everything else is close. An athlete’s minimum grade point average to be considered for a nomination is 3.0. Felton said the finalists would each receive a $1,200 scholarship at the chapter’s annual banquet in Laramie on March 19th. From the group of finalists, one top scholar-athlete will be awarded a second scholarship and be the state’s nominee for Western Chapter Scholar Athlete of the Year. Each nominee will have his name entered at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and the Western Region’s top scholar-athlete will be recognized at a banquet at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. The local nominees are: *Shoshoni Wranglers* Patrick Forrester Connor Wilkinson *Lander Valley Tigers* Landon Cleveland Scott Keaton Dylan Tschannen Chris Williams *Riverton Wolverines* Baylor Beers *Thermopolis Bobcats* Tyler Cornwell Eric Herold *Feature Photo: Dubois football quarterback Kurt Leseberg and Riverton football coach Randy Weber were honored in 2015 for their contributions to the sport by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation. Leseberg was named one of 14 finalists and Weber received a Football Coach Career Achievement Award. Nine Fremont and Hot Springs County athletes have been nominated for this year's scholarship awards to be presented March 19th in Laramie. (Pitchengine Communities) * *Other state athletes nominated for the scholarships are: * *Kaycee* Hayden Fauber *Meeteetse* Carter Johnson Shawn Shepperson *Riverside HS (Basin)* Scott Anderson Cole Hills *Torrington* David Becker Jeff Burroughs *Burlington* Nathan Carizales *Lingle-Fort Laramie* K.C. Henry, Lingle *Upton-Sundance* Cole Inghram Rourke McPeters *Pine Bluffs* Kyle Jeffres *Cokeville* Jackson Linford *Saratoga* Thatcher Spiering *Glenrock* Alec Arnold Tyson Buettgenback Dillon Farley Justin David Love Elijah Stewart Isaac Ritter *Big Horn* Bruce Beisher Maxon Lube Collin Powers Charlie Ringley Travis Walker *Wheatland* Justis Borton Josh Calvert, Daniel Chesser Preston Gunter *Lovell* Konner Davis Beau Green Nicholas Haskell *Big Piney* J.D. Fear Justis Fisher R.C. Pape Jeramiah Riggan William Shafer Josh Willoughby *Powell* Teagan Cordes Jackson Griffin *Jackson Hole* Theo Dawson *Star Valley (Afton)* Reese Hibel *Douglas* Cody Hooker *Torrington* Skyler Miller *Cody* Cameron Myera *Green River* Tyler Vendetti, *Sheridan* Davis Alden Ed Arzy Blake Baker Zach Campbell Blake Goodwin *Campbell County (Gillette)* Roo Aten Lane Barbous Zach Clark Isaac Hamilton Dalton Holst Derek Hooker *Cheyenne East* Jack Danni Hunter Ernst Ricky Garnicia-Cole Uriah Gracia-Salinas Quinn Happold Baylor Hayes Joe Helsel Austin Jacobson Cole Jensen *Laramie* Noah Hammontree *Natrona County (Casper)* Matt Bernardis, Mark Feraud Bridger Helm Dillon Vanetti Cody Wilkinson Lorenzo Andrade Sam Airisa Duke Beddes Keegan Berry Daniel Bliss Taylor Edwards Caleb Hett Joe Keating MarkKinder Tristan Kutzer Bryant MacMillan William Rice Weston Richner Dawson Rivera *Wyoming Cowboys* Cameron Coffman Rafe Kiely #county10 #springcity #news