New State Troopers hail from Riverton, Thermopolis

(Cheyenne, Wyo.) - Included in the latest class of new State Troopers in the Wyoming Highway Patrol are three from the local area. Former Riverton Police Officers W. Todd Baxter and Eli Miller were just commissioned along with Melanie Kress of Thermopolis. "It takes a special person to become a Wyoming State Trooper. They have to be willing to give much more than they will ever get back. They have to be committed to serve and protect all people in Wyoming with courtesy, professionalism and integrity. Our newest troopers are up to the challenge," a news release from the WHP indicated. The Trooper Basic Academy has concluded and the members of the academy recently commissioned where they took their oaths of office and transitioned from their "Recruit" badges to their official badges in front of family and friends. The ceremony marked the 90th graduated Wyoming Highway Patrol Academy Class. The Wyoming Highway Patrol Academy Class #90 include: James Barry, Badge 83, Rock Springs. *W. Todd Baxter, Badge 87, Riverton.* *Melanie Kress, Badge 132, Thermopolis.* Ryan Logan, Badge 135, Laramie. Jordan Looney, Badge 136, Basin. *Eli Miller, Badge 140, Riverton*. Brandon Morton, Badge 144, Casper. Argel Sierra, Badge 175, Rock River. Gabriel Walz, Badge 176, Douglas. *Feature Photo: * *Bottom Row L to R: Colonel Kebin Haller, Lt. Colonel Shannon Ratliff. * *Row 2 L to R: Sgt. Duane Ellis, Trps. Argel Sierra, Eli Miller, Melanie Kress, James Barry.* *Row 3 L to R: Trps. Jordan Looney, W. Todd Baxter, Ryan Logan, Gabriel Walz.* *Row 4 L to R: Captain Derek Mickelson, Trp. Brandon Morton, Lieutenant Klief Guenther* *Row 5 L to R: Sgts. David Wagener and Randy Starkey* *(Wyoming Highway Patrol / Pitchengine Communities) * #county10 #springcity #news