Local woman named to State's Retirement System Board by Governor Mead

(Shoshoni, Wyo.) - The Business Manager for the Shoshoni School District 24, Kay Watson of Riverton, has been appointed by Governor Matt Mead to serve on the Wyoming State Retirement System Board. Watson will represent the state's public school districts. The Wyoming Retirement System is administered by an 11-member board, which includes the state treasurer, two public employees, two employees representing the public school system or the University of Wyoming, one retired member, and five qualified non-member Wyoming electors. All board members, with the exception of the state treasurer, are appointed by the governor for staggered terms of six years, according to the agency's web site. With guidance from the executive director and the chief investment officer, the board provides oversight on the investment of all retirement funds and monitors the performance of the investment managers hired. The board contracts with an actuarial firm to value the funding levels of each plan and study trends. Members include: *Representing the Community at Large* Laura Ladd (Board chair) Tom Chapman Keith N. Hay Eric Nelson Mike Ceballos *Representing Public Employees and Employers* Steve Wolff Tim Sullivan *Representing Higher Education Systems* Garth Shanklin *Representing Public School Systems* Kay Watson *Representing Retirees* Vicci Colgan *Wyoming State Treasurer* Mark Gordon #county10 #news