Football Foundation to honor four from county this Saturday

*Feature Photo: The Riverton Wolverines Baylor Beers with his parents Robyn and Cody Beers. Baylor is a finalist for the Wyoming Chapter, National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award to be presented Saturday in Laramie. Three other county residents will also be honored with Special Awards. (h/t Cody Beers / Pitchengine Communities) * (Laramie, Wyo.) – The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will announce its Scholar-Athlete of the Year at a banquet Saturday night in Laramie. The event is being held at the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the UW Campus next to War Memorial Stadium. Riverton's Baylor Beers has been nominated in the Class 3A Lineman category. Other Fremont County (or former) residents to be honored at the event include Harold Bailey of Greeley, Colo., long-time former Shoshoni Coach; Michael Popeck of Lander for Greatest High School Football Fan and Danny Watson of Riverton for his Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football. Guest speakers include former UW Quarterback Carson Sween and Head Wyoming Cowboy Football Coach Craig Bohl. Twelve seniors from a dozen different high schools in the state’s five football classifications have been named finalists for the honor. A back and a lineman have been nominated in each classification In addition, special awards will be presented to state residents for their outstanding contributions to amateur football, coaching, officiating, and to the greatest UW and High School football fans. *The Scholar-Athlete Award Finalists are: * *1A Six Man* Hayden Fauber, Kaycee Shawn Shepperson, Meeteetse *1A-11 Man* Jackson Linford, Cokeville (Lineman) Jeff Burroughs, Southeast (Back) *2A* Elijah Stewart, Glenrock (Back) Josh Calvert, Wheatland (Lineman) *3A* Baylor Beers, Riverton (Lineman) Teagan Cordes, Powell (Lineman) Theo Dawson, Jackson (Back) Skyler Miller, Torrington (Back) *4A * Blake Goodwin, Sheridan (Back) Quinn Happold, Cheyenne East (Lineman) *Courage and Perseverance Awards* Cameron Myers, Cody – Courage Jaxn Kobza, Ranchester (Tongue River HS) - Perseverance *University of Wyoming Scholar-Athlete Finalists* Cameron Coffman (Back) and Rafe Kiely (Lineman) Each nominated athlete will receive a $1,200 scholarship from the Wyoming Chapter and one top Scholar-Athlete will be receive a second $1,200 scholarship and be the state’s nominee for Western U.S. Chapter Scholar-Athlete of the Year. *Special Award Recipients are:* Harold Bailey, Greeley, CO, (Formerly of Shoshoni), Football Coaching Award Doug Bartlett, Torrington, Football Coaching Award Bill Lehr, Big Piney, Football Coaching Award Chuck and Katie Brown, Wheatland, Greatest UW Football Fan Keith Downey, Laramie, Greatest UW Football Fan Michael Popeck, Lander, Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fan Lee and Donna Shafer, Big Piney, Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fan Danny Watson, Riverton, Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Dylan Grant, Randy Rider, Terry Rider and Todd Van Rensselaer, Douglas (football chain gang), Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football. #county10 #news