keyboard_arrow_up

Spring Baseball in Riverton: Raiders hit the field

*Feature Photo: Assistant Riverton Raiders Post 19 Coach Cody Beers oversees batting practice at Roy Peck Field this past week. (Pitchengine Communities) * (Riverton, Wyo.) - After a winter of indoor conditioning, the 2016 edition of the Riverton Legion Post 19 Raiders baseball team has hit the field for spring training in advance of a combined 72 game season. The A team is scheduled for 48 games and the B team up to 24 games. Home stadium for the Raiders is Roy Peck Field just north of Central Wyoming College. "We have a great turnout of players this year, 30 have signed up," said Assistant Coach Cody Beers. "It's the most we've had in a long time. This year's team captains are Steven Reinig, Baylor Beers, Brayden Draper, and Teron Doebele. "These young men are great leaders and will be a strong foundation for our team this year," said Beers. He's assisted by Billy Brost and Nik Cessna. "That being said, it is going to take strong leadership from all of our players in order for the season to be as successful as we want it to be." Brady Beers is the team manager, who will take over the reigns of the squad in May, after he returns from his senior year college as he did last year. *Raiders A Schedule 2016:* *MAY* Saturday, May 7: Riverton at Worland, noon (nonconference) Sunday, May 8: Worland at Riverton, noon (nonconference) Saturday, May 14: Riverton at Lovell, noon (nonconference) Sunday, May 15: Rawlins at Riverton, noon (nonconference) Saturday, May 21: Lovell at Riverton, noon (nonconference) Thursday, May 26: Cody at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Tuesday, May 31: Rock Springs at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. *JUNE* Thursday, June 2, to Saturday, June 4: Roy Peck Memorial (Riverton, Powell, Green River, Cheyenne A, Douglas, Lovell) Wednesday, June 8: Riverton at Cody, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Thursday, June 9: Riverton at Powell, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Sunday, June 12: Riverton at Rawlins, noon and 2 p.m. Monday, June 13: Lovell at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Tuesday, June 14: Riverton at Rock Springs, 5 and 7 p.m. Thursday, June 16, to Sunday, June 19: Green River Tournament Wednesday, June 22, to Sunday, June 26: Miles City, Montana, Tournament Thursday, June 30: Rawlins at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. *. * Friday, July 1: Riverton vs. Lovell in Greybull, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Thursday, July 7, through Sunday, July 10: Douglas Tournament Tuesday, July 12: Worland at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Thursday, July 14: Riverton at Worland, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Saturday, July 16: Powell at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. (conference) Thursday, July 21, to Saturday, July 23: A North District Tournament, Cody Wednesday, July 27, to Sunday, July 31, A State Tournament, Douglas *Riverton B Schedule 2016 (more games, depending on numbers):*Saturday, May 7: Riverton B at Worland, 2 p.m. Sunday, May 8: Worland at Riverton B, 2 p.m. Saturday, May 14: Riverton B at Lovell, 2 p.m. Sunday, May 15: Rawlins at Riverton B, 2 p.m. Saturday, May 21: Lovell at Riverton B, 2 p.m. Tuesday, June 21: Riverton B at Rock Springs, 5 and 7 p.m. Tuesday, June 28: Riverton B at Cody, 5 and 7 p.m. Tuesday, July 5: Cody at Riverton B, 5 and 7 p.m. Wednesday, July 6: Riverton B at Casper, 5 and 7 p.m. Monday, July 11: Casper B at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. Friday, July 15: Rock Springs B at Riverton, 5 and 7 p.m. [image: Inline image 1] *Assistant Coach Billy Brost had half of the team at the batting cage. (Pitchengine Communities) * [image: Inline image 2] *Alex Fabricius took a big swing in the batting cage. (Pitchengine Communities)* [image: Inline image 3] *Assistant Coach Cody Beers giving instructions during bunting practice.