New Attendance Boundaries Decided for Campbell County Schools

Last night at the twice monthly Campbell County School Board meeting, a decision was made regarding which feeder schools would service Campbell County High School, and the newly expanded Thunder Basin High School (formerly South Campus.) One of the biggest changes is the division of the Prairie Wind attendance area. The section surrounding the new two-story Stocktrail Elementary School will now be its own section called Stocktrail. The school will feature a Spanish language immersion program, the first of its kind for Campbell County. About 130 children attending Stocktrail when it opens in the fall will be from the surrounding area. The remaining 2/3rds will be students electing to attend from other sections of the district. For now, Twin Spruce Junior High will be fed by Recluse, Lakeview, Little Powder, Prairie Wind, the new Stocktrail, Meadowlark, Hillcrest, Rozet, and Conestoga elementary schools, who will in turn be attending Campbell County High School. Sage Valley Junior High will take students from Rawhide, Wagonwheel, Pronghorn, Paintbrush, Buffalo Ridge, Sunflower, and 4J Elementary, and will be feeding to Thunder Basin High School when the expansion is completed in 2017. The decision to include Rozet and Conestoga in the the north high school's attendance area was based mostly on economics. The number of students from lower income homes becomes more evenly distributed between schools, which the board thought was the best choice for Campbell County. #county17 #news