University of Wyoming Awards Scholarships to Four Local Teenagers

(Gillette, Wyo.) Four outstanding high school seniors from Campbell County have been selected to receive the 2016 Trustees' Scholars Award, the University of Wyoming's top academic scholarship. Sixty-eight other students from across Wyoming were also selected to receive the award. The scholarship will cover tuition plus room and board costs for eight semesters at the University of Wyoming, starting with the fall 2016 semester. Tiffany Allen, Ariel Gjovig, and Timothy Hays from Campbell County High School, as well as Adrienne Mackenzie from Wright Junior-Senior High School were selected from a pool of 565 eligible students. The eligible candidates were from public schools, home schools, and virtual school students. The four winners were evaluated based on their academic excellence. The average GPA of those selected is 3.99, and the average ACT score is 33. “Wyoming has many incredibly bright and motivated students, and this list of scholarship recipients represents the best of the best,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says. “The Trustees’ Scholars Award is highly competitive, with more and more high-achieving students applying.” To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.0 cumulative GPA. $3.44 million in scholarship money has been awarded this year to current UW students by the Trustees’ Scholars Award. #county17 #news -- *Brenda Kirk* Community Maven for | 614.940.7121 Twitter | Instagram | Facebook PitchEngine™ | *Connecting Communities* | Twitter | Facebook