Rozet Students Graduate From D.A.R.E. Program

(Gillette, Wyo.) D.A.R.E. -- Drug Abuse Resistance Education -- has changed a lot in the past 25 years. It's no longer just about substance abuse. Most kids know about the dangers of drugs. What today's D.A.R.E program helps kids learn is how to make informed decisions in all the aspects of their lives. They discuss how to negotiate difficult situations, and when to get their parents involved. This week sixth grade students from elementary schools around Campbell County have been graduating from the D.A.R.E. program. Today's class from Rozet Elementary arrived at Gillette College this afternoon for the ceremony. D.A.R.E. Officers Ben Goetsche and Undersheriff Quentin Reynolds from the Campbell County Sheriff's Office as well as officers from Gillette Police presented students with achievement awards and talked to parents about the program. A staff including Sheriff Matheny teaches D.A.R.E once a week at local schools. Undersheriff Reynolds started as a D.A.R.E. officer in 1989 at Rozet Elementary, where he attended school as a child. He told the crowd that just because you graduate doesn't mean they stop being your D.A.R.E. officer. They will assist you through high school and college. Since Matheny has been Sheriff, he's hired three of his former D.A.R.E. students to the Sheriff's department. "If you use the tools Deputy Ben has given you, you can be successful in life," Undersheriff Reynolds told the students. "It's not always about drugs and alcohol. It's about life choices." [image: 20160420_132950.jpg] Nina Shober and Braidy Bulkley were the first place essay winners from Rozet. Here's a list of all the students who graduated today: From Mrs. Fillpot's Class: Elizabeth Anderson Katie Brenner Zachary Hall Rhianne Hillyer Alaysha Knife Melanie Martinez Kendall McKee Ashley McNally Tegan Minchow Alexander Moyle Dailyn Nichols Carter Overfield Nina Shober Chloe Slattery Sakura Sterrett Katelen Stieg Easton Zahn Orrin Zmiewski From Mr. Roberts' Class: Kallie Brenner Braidy Bulkley Samara Callender Kloey Dixon Dylan Gardner Devon George Tyler Graf Hayden Lemm Kooper Lewis Zane Linder Brody Meader Emma Neph Kenna Redinger Jaquilyn Ryan James Scott Nora Shober Dylan Skillings Talaina Stieg Kaylee Terry Coy Thar Tayler Winjum #county17 #news