Six local high school students receive UW's highest scholarship honor

(Laramie, Wyo.) — Six of the 72 outstanding high school seniors from across Wyoming announced today as the University of Wyoming 2016 Trustees' Scholars are from Sheridan and Johnson counties. Those students are: Kaylin McKinley, Big Horn High School Philip Renkert, Buffalo High School Zach Campbell, Anastasia Giljum, Caleb Hoopes and Cole Kayser, all from Sheridan High School Trustees' Scholars receive the premier scholarship for Wyoming resident high school seniors, which covers actual credit hours taken, plus room and board costs for eight semesters at UW, starting with the fall 2016 semester. Students from 28 high schools, along with home-school and virtual-school students, were chosen from among 565 eligible candidates. Recipients are evaluated on their academic excellence (high school grade-point average, ACT/SAT scores and curriculum rigor). For this year’s award winners, whose application materials were due by Dec. 1, the average GPA is 3.99, and the average ACT score is 33. “Wyoming has many incredibly bright and motivated students, and this list of scholarship recipients represents the best of the best,” UW Admissions Director Shelley Dodd says. “The Trustees’ Scholars Award is highly competitive, with more and more high-achieving students applying.” To retain the scholarship all four years at UW, students must maintain full-time continuous enrollment (at least 12 semester hours) during the fall and spring semesters each year, along with a 3.0 cumulative GPA. A total of 278 students are attending UW with support from the Trustees’ Scholars Award this academic year, at a value of $3.44 million. *Feature photo: Old Main h/t University of Wyoming / Pitchengine Communities* #dally #news