Athletes from around Natrona County nominated for Wyoming's Football Scholar award

The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation will determine the state’s Top Football Scholar-Athletes from a field of 101 nominations from 35 high schools and the University of Wyoming, according to Wyoming Chapter President Jeff Felton of Cheyenne. Nominees from each of the state’s five participation classes will be honored, including two from the University of Wyoming. A back and a lineman from each division will be nominated as a finalist from the list of nominees. In determining our Scholar-Athlete finalists, academic achievement is weighted 40 percent, football performance is weighted 40 percent and school and community leadership is weighted 20 percent. Many times, the school and community Leadership component can be the tie breaker when everything else is close. An athlete’s minimum grade point average to be considered for a nomination is 3.0. Felton said the finalists would each receive a $1,200 scholarship at the chapter’s annual banquet in Laramie on March 19th. From the group of finalists, one top scholar-athlete will be awarded a second scholarship and be the state’s nominee for Western Chapter Scholar Athlete of the Year. Each nominee will have his name entered at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and the Western Region’s top scholar-athlete will be recognized at a banquet at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. Nominees from around Natrona County: *Glenrock High School* Alec Arnold Tyson Buettgenback Dillon Farley Justin David Love Elijah Stewart Isaac Ritter *Casper High Schools* Matt Bernardis, Mark Feraud Bridger Helm Dillon Vanetti Cody Wilkinson Lorenzo Andrade Sam Airisa Duke Beddes Keegan Berry Daniel Bliss Taylor Edwards Caleb Hett Joe Keating MarkKinder Tristan Kutzer Bryant MacMillan William Rice Weston Richner Dawson Rivera #oilcity #news