Wyoming State Republican Convention counting votes; Here is how the process works

(Casper, Wyo.) -Today the Wyoming Republicans came together for the Wyoming State Republican Convention at the Parkway Plaza in Casper. Below is a quick guide to how the process works from the Wyoming GOP: The Wyoming Republican Party selects delegates to the Republican National Convention. The Republican National Committee (RNC) has two jobs. 1. First is to hold a convention, which nominates a presidential candidate. 2. The second is to see to the election of that nominee. A delegate is entitled to vote and otherwise participate in the convention. If the delegate cannot do so, an alternate steps in. The Republican National Committee sets the size of each delegation, using a formula that rewards state parties for electing Republicans. This year, Wyoming is entitled to 29 delegates and 26 alternates. *Wyoming’s Delegate Selection Process* In all states, three delegates are automatic: - State Party Chairman - Republican National Committeewoman - Republican National Committeeman. They do not get any alternates. The County Conventions that took place on March 12 selected another 12 delegates and their 12 alternates. In most cases, a county convention will elect either a delegate or an alternate to the Republican National Convention. For this purpose, the state’s 23 counties are divided into twelve delegate districts (with the county electing the delegate in 2016 emphasized*): (1) Natrona-Albany* (2) Carbon-Sweetwater* (3) Lincoln-Uinta* (4) Teton*-Sublette (5) Park-Fremont* (6) Hot Springs*Washakie (7) Sheridan*-Big Horn (8) Campbell*-Johnson (9) Crook*-Weston (10) Converse*-Niobrara (11) Platte-Goshen* (12) Laramie*. Laramie The remaining delegates and alternates, if any, are selected at the state convention. Wyoming is entitled to 29 delegates. The County Conventions accounted for 15 of the 29 leaving 14 to elect at the State Convention and 14 alternatives. Anyone wishing to become a delegate must be nominated by someone who is a delegate to the convention, but does not need themselves to be a delegate. Once all of the nominations are completed, all potential delegates will be listed on a ballot. The convention delegates will then vote for 14 people to be delegates to national convention. The top 14 vote-getters will be the delegates and the next 14 will serve as the alternates. These are promoted to delegates in the order of their vote count. So Who Elects These People? The Chairman is elected to a two year term by the State Central Committee in the spring of odd numbered years. The National Committeeman and National Committeewoman are elected to four year terms at the state convention of presidential election years. Delegates to the state convention are elected by the county conventions. Delegates to the county convention are elected by precinct caucuses in their respective counties. Any person registered to vote Republican as of the call for precinct caucuses in a given precinct may vote in that precinct’s caucus. Resources The Wyoming delegate selection process is governed by the Bylaws of the Republican Party of Wyoming, Wyoming Statute Title 22, and the Republican National Committee Rules. #oilcity #news #county10 #dally #reboot #buckrail #shortgo #county17 #springcity