26 UW-Casper education grads honored for their work at local schools

(Casper, Wyo.) - Twenty-six University of Wyoming at Casper (UW-Casper) education graduates received pins honoring their completion of a semester-long public school residency at a recent reception. The graduates then presented their mentor teachers with UW-Casper pens as a gesture of gratitude for fostering their growth as educators. Brianna Anderson, recipient of the Maggi Murdock Scholar Award and a graduating senior of the technical education program through UW-Casper, spoke about the value of teachers. She was followed by the dean of the College of Education, Ray Reutzel. After presenting Sagewood elementary teacher Kim Lau with the Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, partner schools facilitator Marcia Patton began the pinning ceremony with words of appreciation to building administrators, mentors, families, and friends. The following students and their mentors, listed with the schools in which they fulfilled their residency requirements, were pinned: CY Middle School: - Lauren Huntington with mentor Polly Beebout. Dean Morgan Junior High: - Monica Harris with mentor Mauro Diaz. Frontier Middle School: - Brianna Anderson with mentor Kora Huffman. Glenrock High School: - Aaron Bruder with mentor Joanne Schubert. Kelly Walsh High School: - Jennifer Davis with mentor Katy Sheley; - James Fulkerson with mentor Jeff Chavez - Erron Hopkins with mentor Joe Feiler; - Cameron Leaf with mentors Jon Vance and Transitions’ Rob Hill. Manor Heights Elementary School: - Savannah Moyte with mentor Cindy Brachtenbach; - Tara Paris with mentor Angie Geiger; Jennifer Robinson with mentor Susie Mayhue; and - Zachery Usry with mentor Heather Feraud. Mills Elementary School: - Lyndsey Christensen with mentor Michele Peterson - Devon Shew with mentor Cassie Holt - Michelle Schebler with mentor Kylie Rainwater - Elizabeth Smith with mentor Jerrie Ferguson. Oregon Trail Elementary School: - Cari Baker with mentor Dixie Bowen. Park Elementary School: - Kayla Jacobsen with mentor Nicole Dundas. - Brytni Mizokami with mentor Lindsey Wheeler. - Rachelle Tucker with mentor Chris Beamer - Bree Uresk with mentor Sarah Rowland. Sagewood Elementary School: - Chelsea Hepp with mentor Carrie Patterson. - Emily Keating with mentor Jennifer Brackenrich. - Devon Nicholls with mentor Kim Lau. - Stephanie Frank with mentor Susie Strom - Alyssa Neely with mentor Megan Amadio. Feature Photo: h/t UW-Casper/Pitchengine Communities #oilcity #news