Mike Trout Named Outstanding Pro Athlete of the Year for Phila. Sports Writers Association, banquet Jan. 16

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania -- December 22, 2014 -- American League Most Valuable Player Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels, coming off a truly outstanding year, will be honored in his home state as the Outstanding Pro Athlete of the Year, it was announced today by Philadelphia Sports Writers Association president Ron Corbin.  It is hoped that Trout will be in attendance at the PSWA's 111th annual banquet scheduled for Friday, January 16 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cherry Hill, New Jersey.  Trout's presence at the dinner is not yet confirmed.

Trout batted .287 and set career highs in home runs (36) and RBIs (111) while leading both major leagues in runs with 115 and extra-base hits with 84.  In just his third full season, he matched his bests in doubles (39) and triples (nine).  He was MVP of the All-Star game in July and led the Angels to the AL West crown, where they were defeated in the postseason by the eventual AL champion Kansas City Royals.  The 23-year-old Trout is the youngest unanimous MVP pick in major league history, garnering all 30 first-place votes and 420 points.  Trout was born and raised in Millville, N.J., where his family still resides and where he spends time in the offseason

If Trout is able to attend, he will add to a distinguished lineup of deserving athletes and sports figures, past and present.  Flyers' defenseman and National Hockey League All-Star Kimmo Timonen will be there to accept his Good Guy Award; former Villanova basketball great and Big 5 Hall of Famer Chris Ford will be honored with the Living Legend Award; Todd Frazier of the Cincinnati Reds will receive the Native Son Award; the late Lewis Katz will be saluted with the Ed Snider Lifetime Distinguished Humanitarian Award; and Philadelphia's Taney Dragons, who came within one win of the 2014 Little League World Series United States championship, will be recognized as the Team of the Year.  More award winners will be announced in the coming weeks.  

Tickets to this dinner make an excellent Christmas or Chanukah gift, priced at $95 each and are available now at

One of the nation's most recognized awards will be presented at the conclusion of this year's dinner, Most Courageous Athlete.  This special award is kept secret until the moment it is presented, usually to an amateur or professional athlete who returned to his or her sport after a serious injury or other setback.

This year, for the first time, PSWA will join with Philadelphia-Area colleges and universities through the PhillySIDA (Sports Information Directors Association) honoring the All-Area Student-Athlete Team and a Performer of the Year in each of the sports. An overall male and female performer also are chosen.

The annual PSWA dinner follows a proud tradition founded in 1904. This year's winners join an honor roll that over the years include Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Stan Musial, Reggie Jackson, Joe DiMaggio, Muhammad Ali, Robin Roberts, Wilt Chamberlain, Guy Rodgers, Julius Erving, Chuck Bednarik, Brad Lidge, Roy Halladay, Cole Hamels, Cathy Rush, Carli Lloyd, Elena Delle Donne, Lois Gilmore, Nicole Hester, Sheila Reid, Kristen Lange, Tommy John, Terry-Jo Myers and others.  For tickets and more information, visit