A Big Implosion And Metrodome Memories

A super site for Redskins fans crumbled early Sunday morning.

Workers from Mortensen Construction set off 84 explosive charges to demolish the roof ring of the Metrodome in Minneapolis, where Washington beat the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXVI.

The Vikings will break ground on a new stadium project slated to open in 2016. When the Redskins travel to Minnesota next year, they will play at T.C.F. Bank Stadium.

With that in mind, it’s time for a cursatory look back at our favorite Metrodome memories:

1. Super Bowl XXVI, Jan. 26, 1992

The Redskins defeated the Bills, 37-24, in Buffalo’s second of four consecutive Super Bowl apperances. Mark Rypien won the MVP award after going 18-of-33 with 292 yards and two touchdowns. Gary Clark and Art Monk each caught seven passes for more than 100 yards.

2.December 26, 1987

Ali Haji-Sheikh sent a 26-yard field goal through the uprights in the Metrodome to beat the Vikings, 27-24, in overtime. Ricky Sanders caught eight passes for 164 yards and two touchdowns including a 51-yarder to tie the game in the fourth quarter. Led by Doug Williams, the Redskins would go on to defeat the Vikings again in the NFC Championship and win Super Bowl XXII.

3. December 23, 2007

Clinton Portis amassed 124 total yards, ran in a score and threw a 15-yard touchdown to Antwaan Randel El in a 32-21 victory that helped propel the Redskins into the playoffs. Todd Collins threw touchdowns to Chris Cooley and Santana Moss, and the Redskins defense held Adrian Peterson to 27 yards rushing.

4. Nov. 29th, 1984

Washington exploded out of the blocks to take a 31-0 lead in the first half of a 31-17 win at Minnesota. Joe Theismann completed 79 percent of his passes and threw for 223 yards and two touchdowns, including a 68-yard completion to Calvin Muhammad in the first quarter.

5. January 2nd, 1993

Earnest Byner and Brian Mitchell each rushed for a touchdown as the Wild Card Redskins eliminated the Vikings from the postseason with a24-7 victory.  Washington’s defense held the Vikings scoreless through the final three quarters.



ABOUT THE REDSKINS: Headquartered at Redskins Park in Ashburn, Virginia, and owned by Daniel Snyder, the historic Washington Redskins Football Club has won five World Championship titles including the 1937 and 1942 National Football League Championship games, as well as Super Bowls XVII, XXII and XXVI. Founded in 1932 as the Boston Braves in Massachusetts, the team changed its name to the Redskins in 1933 and relocated to Washington, D.C., in 1937. Since then, the team has become one of the most recognizable professional sports franchises in history, featuring multiple Hall of Fame coaches, 19 members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame (with seven others who also were Redskins) and becoming the first team in the NFL with an official marching band and fight song, "Hail to the Redskins." The Redskins have been owned by Dan Snydersince 1999, and beginning in 1997, began playing their home games at FedExField in Landover, Md.