****MEDIA ADVISORY*** 2014 Collegiate Rugby Championships Saturday, May 31st and Sunday, June 1st at PPL Park in Chester, Pennsylvania

WHO:               20 of the top men’s college rugby teams in the United States competing in the 4th annual invitational tournament:  Dartmouth College; Drexel University; Kutztown University; Life University; Northeastern University; Ohio State University; Penn State University; Saint Joseph’s University; Temple University; UCLA; United States Naval Academy; University of Arizona; University of California; University of Maryland; University of Michigan; University of Notre Dame; University of Pennsylvania; University of South Carolina; University of Texas; and Virginia Tech University.

WHAT:             2014 Collegiate Rugby Championships

WHEN:             Saturday, May 31, 2014, from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday, June 1, 2014, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

WHERE:           PPL Park, 1 Stadium Drive, Chester, PA 19013



Media Contacts:

Joe Favorito,, (201) 746-0005

Jim DeLorenzo,, 215-266-5943

BACKGROUND:  The 2014 Collegiate Rugby Championships returns to Philadelphia for the fourth consecutive year, Saturday, May 31st and Sunday, June 1st at PPL Park in Chester, Pennsylvania. The invitational tournament features 20 of the nation’s top college teams, competing in 44 matches across two days as they compete for the coveted Pete Dawkins Trophy.  The trophy is named for the Heisman Trophy winner and All-American football star from Army, who was also a standout professional football player – but most notably here, an outstanding rugby player and enthusiast.  Six teams with strong ties to the Greater Philadelphia region – Drexel University, Kutztown University, University of Pennsylvania, Penn State University, Saint Joseph’s University and Temple University – will compete in the tournament, alongside teams from the University of Arizona, UCLA, Dartmouth, Life University, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, Navy, Northeastern University, Notre Dame, University of South Carolina, University of Texas, Virginia Tech and Ohio State University.  The reigning champion, the University of California, returns to the 2014 Collegiate Rugby Championships to defend their title.  Tickets for the 2014 Collegiate Rugby Championships are available online at, by phone at 1-800-298-4200, or in person at the PPL Park box office.  Additional information is available at