Goodyear, NHRA at Pacific Raceways

Media contact:
Lee Elder
805-377-3537, mobile
330-794-7302, desk

McGaha makes it two straight, clinches Countdown berth

      SEATTLE, Wash. (Aug. 10, 2015) – Chris McGaha won his second straight NHRA Pro Stock victory when he captured the final round of the Northwest Nationals at Pacific Raceways.
      McGaha beat Jeg Coughlin in the final round and clinched a berth in the NHRA’s Countdown to the Championship, drag racing’s six-race playoff system.
      McGaha was one of six drivers to win a final round race on Goodyear tires at the event. J.R. Todd (in Top Fuel) and Tommy Johnson Jr. (Funny Car) won in the NHRA’s Mello Yello Drag Racing Series for professional teams. Megan McKernan (Top Alcohol Dragster), Annie Whiteley (Top Alcohol Funny Car) and Glen Pain Jr. (Super Gas) all won in the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series for sportsman teams.
      It was the second time in as many weeks that Goodyear won six times in NHRA national event competition.
      McGaha’s win made him the first Pro Stock racer to win two straight races from the top qualifying position since Allen Johnson did it in 2012. It nearly didn’t happen. McGaha edged Coughlin by about four feet at the finish, a scant .0141 of a second.
      Todd’s win in Top Fuel was his first of 2015 and the eighth of his career. He beat Shawn Langdon in the final round.
      Johnson’s Funny Car win came at the expense of Del Worsham in the final round. It was Johnson’s 12th career win. Jack Beckman, who was bidding to win a third straight victory, was the only driver other than McGaha to clinch a Countdown berth over the weekend.
      McKernan’s win in TAD extended Goodyear’s decade-long string of success in the category.
      Whiteley’s victory in TAFC was her third win in national event competition.
      Paine’s victory was his first in a national event.
      Goodyear employs about 69,000 people at manufacturing plants and facilities in 22 nations. Based in Akron, Ohio, Goodyear is among the largest tiremakers in the world and is the worldwide leader in race tire innovation.