Grand Isle Students Featured on Vermont Public Radio's Book Club for Kids

Colchester, Vt. – Reporter Amy Noyes and 5th graders at the Grand Isle School will explore Tim Federle’s book Better Nate Than Ever next Monday, October 6 on Dorothy’s List, VPR’s book club for kids.

The program will broadcast at noon and 7 p.m. during Vermont Edition, VPR’s daily news magazine. Listeners also will hear from Tim Federle, who answers questions from the students.

Each school year, thousands of Vermont students read the books nominated for the annual Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, which is among the oldest and most distinctive children’s book awards in the country. Thirty books make the annual list, and fourth through eighth graders vote for their favorite title in the spring. 

Noyes is traveling the state, talking with middle school students about the books they're reading. In each installment, the author will answer questions posed directly by students. Listeners will also hear what students have to say about the issues and themes in the books.  
Dorothy's List airs the first Monday of each month. The series is also available at, along with a list of books in this year’s lineup.

“Dorothy's List has had an amazing reception. Since the series begin last year, I've heard from librarians and teachers all over the state who would like to get their students involved with the program,” Noyes said. “There are some really creative projects and discussions built around these books.”

In November, the Dorothy’s List book is Salt by Helen Frost.

“Young people are having deep conversations about these books, and it’s inspiring to hear how passionate they are about reading, and about the process of writing,” said Vermont Edition Managing Producer Patti Daniels. “It’s exciting to share the thoughtful observations that these kids have about literature with a statewide audience.”

The DCF program is led by the Vermont Department of Libraries, in conjunction with schools and libraries across Vermont. Dorothy’s List is a project of the VPR Journalism Fund.