Best Medical Websites to be Named by Web Marketing Association in 19th Annual WebAward Competition

The Web Marketing Association is looking for the best medical websites in the world as part of their 19th annual international WebAward Competition for Web site development at The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets benchmarks for 96 industries, including medical, medical equipment, biotechnology, healthcare, healthcare provider, and pharmaceutical websites, based on the seven criteria of a successful web site. The deadline for Healthcare websites to enter to be judged is May 29, 2015.

“The medical industry is very competitive when it comes to Web development and companies can benefit from the independent evaluation of their online efforts,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “Medical web sites are typically strong in terms of content and copywriting due to their role of helping the organization become a trusted medical source. In past years, judges have also scored these sites well in ease of use, and design; however, they tend to lag in innovation and use of technology.”

Websites are judged on seven criteria including design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, copy writing and ease of use. Each WebAward entry in the Health Care category is judged against other healthcare sites and then against an overall standard of excellence.

All healthcare entrants benefit from receiving valuable feedback in terms of their specific criteria scores compared against the average scores for their industry. They also may receive specific comments from the WebAward’s professional judging panel on their Web site development efforts.

Winners of a WebAward in the medical categories will also receive:

·        Handsome statue or certificate of achievement

·         Increased visibility for their company

·         Marketing opportunity to promote the company website to the media

·         Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO

·         A highlight for your resume.

·         Admiration of peers, friends and co-workers


Each year, the Web Marketing Association names the Best of Industry for the various healthcare categories based on the score they receive from the WebAward judges.

Recent winners of the Best Medical Web Site include:

§  2014 – CommonPlaces, Inc. for Capsule Tech

§  2013 – Bold Array for Summit Imaging Website

§  2012 - Overdrive Interactive for Cold-EEZE Website

§  2011 – Nobel Biocare for Nobel Biocare Dental Professional Website

§  2010 - St. Jude Children's Research Hospital for Cure4Kids

§  2009 – Fullhouse for GE’s Healthcare’s RSNA 2008 Microsite

§  2008 - Digitas Health for MerckMedicus

§  2007 – Centers for Disease Control an for

§  2006 - WebMD Health for WebMD

§  2005 – Mojo Interactive for

§  2004 – Roche Diagnostics for ACCU-CHEK Web Site

§  2003 – ASCO for

§  2002 – for


Recent winners of the Best Medial Equipment Web Site include:

§  2014 – CommonPlaces, Inc. for Capsule Tech

§  2013 – Bold Array for Summit Imaging Website

§  2012 – pilot for ottobock. Living with Michelangelo.

§  2011 – Pixel Light Digital Media, Inc. for Empi Active product web site

§  2010 - Boston Interactive - Palomar Medical Technologies

§  2009 - Extractable for Thermage Doctors

§  2008 – Great Than One for Guardian REAL – Time Glucose Monitor Tutorial

§  2007 – Cynosure and Small Army for Cynosure Corporate Web Site

§  2006 – for

§  2005 – Roche Diagnostics for MyLabOnline

Recent winners of the Best Biotechnology Web Site include:

§  2014 – SharpMotion for AceCGT NutriGene Website

§  2013 – Euroweb Internet GmbH for Ulrich Berninger Wassertechnik

§  2012 - Bluetube Interactive for Kimberly Clark Product Selector

§  2011 – Phenomenex, Inc. for

§  2010 - Naturxan \ CreatiVerge for

§  2009 – Amgen Oncology for Pioneering New Frontiers in Tumor Angiogenesis

§  2008 - Avenue A | Razorfish for

§  2007 - Euro Life x2 for Prolastin

§  2006 - AxxiemCorp for Cara Therapeutics

§  2005 - Risdall Advertising Agency for Hutchinson Technology

§  2004 - Genzyme Corporation/Stellent for Genzyme Web Initiative

§  2003 - Alken-Murray Corporation for Alken-Murray

§  2002 - Hanley-Wood Integrated Marketing for

Medical Websites can be entered into consideration for the 2015 Best Medical Website and Best Medical Equipment Website WebAwards at the WebAward Website.

Participants can improve their chances on winning a WebAward by visiting the Web Marketing Association Facebook Page and becoming a fan of the page.  The Web Marketing Association will be providing hints and tips on how to improve your chances on winning a top award though out the award program entry period.

The 2015 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, EContent Magazine, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, Webmaster Radio, and Website Magazine. The Web Marketing Association thanks these companies for their commitment to the entire online marketing community.


About the WebAwards

The Web Marketing Association was founded in 1997 to help define the standard of excellence for online marketing. Our internationally known award programs, such as WebAward Competition for Website Development, Internet Advertising Competition and the MobileWebAwards, recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing the most effective online marketing programs on the Internet today.  Entrants benefit from assessment of their marketing efforts by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented by being recognized as an award-winning web developer.