Park County GOP elects Northrup as alternate delegate

The Park County GOP convention is in the books. According to Party Chairman Colin Simpson, Park County elected an alternate delegate to the Republican State Convention Powell resident David Northrup. Cruz received 30 votes to Trump who only tallied 4 votes. Candidate Marco Rubio also came in with 30 votes to tie with Cruz. Undeclared candidate votes totaled 38. The County Conventions meet over several days to choose 12 of 29 of Wyoming's delegates to the Republican National Convention. Approximately 980 County precinct committeemen and women are eligible to vote for the National Convention Delegates and Alternates at the County Conventions. Wyoming has 23 counties that are grouped into 12 Delegate-Districts. In each Delegate-District, except Laramie, counties are paired: one county selects a delegate while the other selects an alternate. The counties swap positions after each Presidential election. The arrangement for 2016 Delegate / Alternate Districts are: Albany / Natrona Sweetwater / Carbon Uinta / Lincoln Teton / Sublette Platte Fremont / Park Hot Springs / Washakie Sheridan Platte / Big Horn Campbell / Johnson Crook / Weston Converse / Niobrara Goshen / Platte Laramie, the county that cast the most votes of any county for the Republican candidate for Congress in the general election immediately preceding the National Convention, selects both a Delegate and an Alternate. #reboot #news