16 students announced to the 2016-17 Mayor’s Youth Council

(Cheyenne, Wyo.) - Mayor Rick Kaysen has announced the students selected for the 2016-17 Mayor’s Youth Council, June 1. Selected youth will participate in a variety of activities and programs, including team building, working one-on-one with the Mayor and other City officials, and attending City Council meetings. Students will also help to address issues affecting youth and the community, learn about City departments and how they function, and tour City facilities. *Those selected to serve on the Mayor’s Youth Council are: * - Kieran Loughran, freshman, East - Carolyn Rude, freshman, Central - Maggie Black, sophomore, Central - Hannah Brown, sophomore, South - Dylan Fertig, sophomore, East - Julia Horst, sophomore, Central - Shelbi Moore, sophomore, East - Kenitra Shanks, sophomore, East - Noah Bell, junior, East - Taylor Hulbert, junior, East - Michael MacMannis, junior, South - Hannah Lumsden, junior, South - Dawson Eldred, senior, East - Hannah Jankovsky, senior, East - Tanner Robertson, senior, Central - Sawyer Ruben, senior, Central Applications were received from 38 students. The 2016-17 term will begin in August 2016 and conclude in May 2017. “All applications received were outstanding and our selection committee worked hard to ensure a balance between ages, grade levels and schools represented,” Kaysen said. “This year we received twice as many applications as compared to last year, which made the process even more difficult with so many fine students applying for a position.” Positions are open each February for students between the ages of 14-18 and who will be in grades 9-12 during the coming school year. *Feature photo: Award recipients for the 2015-16 Mayor's Youth Council in City Council Chambers, May 2016. (Pitchengine Communities)* #shortgo #news