HSC Hall of Fame Banquet is Saturday; Five to be inducted

Five new members of the Hot Springs County Hall of Fame will be inducted this Saturday evening at the Days Inn Hotel, inside Hot Springs State Park. The investiture ceremony includes a mixer from 5-6 p.m., dinner at 6 and the ceremony at 7. The five will join 15 previous inductees in this, the fourth annual event. County Commissioner John Lumley told on Thursday that many of the inductees "have been hidden behind a curtain of history." He said the impact of the nominees over time has everyone's lives today. *The Class of 2016:* *C. Dana Carter, MD* [image: Inline image 1] Dr. C. Dana Carter, Proprietor of the Carter Sanitarium on the Hot Springs State Reserve, Thermopolis, Wyoming, was ranked among the leading surgeons of his time in the new State of Wyoming. ln 1896, he came to Wyoming settling in Basin, the first Physician in the northern country, travelling by horseback or with horse and buggy. ln 19l2, Dr. Carter moved toThermopolis and built the first hospital. ln 1916, he built the Carter Sanitarium on the Hot Springs Reserve at a cost of $ 100,000. lt was the finest building of its kind in the State. He was surgeon for the Burlington Railroad Company and County Physician for Hot Springs County. *Dora McGrath* [image: Inline image 2] Dora McGrath, born 1869 was a true pioneer in almost every sense of the word. She was elected from Hot Springs County as the first woman to serve in the Wyoming Senate in 1930 after a life-time of service to Thermopolis and Hot Springs County. Her husband, Martin,was the first mayor ofThermopolis. Dora led the County's Pioneer Association from inception to 1949. *Dorothy Buchanan Milek* [image: Inline image 3] Dorothy Milek has no peers when it comes to researching and writing the history of Hot Springs County. She has authored two books; History of Hot Springs County and the Gift of Bah Guewano, published in her own name and has contributed to many more. She is a charter member of the Hot Springs County Historical Society, is a life-time member of the Hot Springs CountyPioneer Association, serving as chairman for many years. She was twice honored by the Thermopolis Chamber of Commerce as Citizen of the Year. *"Cody Bill" Smith* [image: Inline image 4] Giving credit where credit is due, Bill has said, "Everything I got, I owe to rodeo!" He graduated from Cody High School in 1958 and almost immediately found his calling by riding rough stock in the Cody Nrght Rodeo where he earned the nickname "Cody Bill". He began his professional rodeo career in 196l by riding broncs, winning the RCAWorld Champion Saddle Bronc Rider titles in 1969, l97l and 1973. Semiretired, he moved to Hot Springs County in l98l and busied himself by conducting horsemanship clinics and raising high-quality Quarter Horses. 1983 saw the first of what has become a yearly tradition with the "Broke Gelding Sale" every May and a companion production salei n the fall. *John Smith Herrin, Sr. * [image: Inline image 5] John Herrin, Sr. came to Thermopolis in 1938 for a six-month job with Empire State Oil Company that actually lasted until his retirement as President in 197l . He was voted Wyoming's Oil Man of theYear in 1963. Mr. Herrin's passions for Thermopolis included being very involved with the youth, winning the PopWarner ServiceAward in 1962. He helped to start the FFA livestock sale during the County Fair, and developed the Little League and built the first baseball fields here. He started the Empire fishing ponds for children in 1962. He was a founding father of the scenic Legion Town & Country Club, under Roundtop, which is the Thermopolis Golf Course today. Along with a group of others, John developed the Hot Springs County Senior Citizen's Center. Upon his retirement in 1971, Empire State Oil Co. cancelled a $79,000 mortgage note held against the Gottsche Rehabilitation Center as a final tribute. *Previous inductees include:* Rancher and Cowboy Actor Col. Tim McCoy; Governor Dave Freudenthal; Wyoming Supreme Court Justice Bart Voight; Teacher and Mentor Karl Allen; Rancher, State Legislator, and State Treasurer Stan Smith; Rancher and Pioneer Oil Producer H.D. Curtis; Physician and Healer Dr. Ben Gitlitz; Attorney and Civic Activist Ruth Clare Johnson; Nationally known Biologist Cal King; Hot Springs County State Representative Alfred "Lefty" Graham; Founds of the Gottsche Foundation William H. and Carrie Gottsche; Wyoming Missionary Catholic Priest Father Nicholas J. Endres; Hot Springs County Sheriff Eddie Todorovich; Mentor and Teacher G.M. "Gyp" "Cookie" Hayek and Newspaper Editors and Writers Arnold and Jessie Duhig. *Feature Photo: The Hot Springs County Hall of Fame inside the County Courthouse in Thermopolis. (Pitchengine Communities) * #springcity #news